olzuloo.blogg.se

Touche amore
Touche amore




touche amore

From there they became our biggest supporters. “After that, my mom and my brother pulled me aside and told me to keep doing this. “There was a night early on in our history when Touché played the Troubadour and all of our families came to see us play,” Bolm says.

touche amore

But Bolm found courage in his mother’s fight, and looked to an early memory of her love and support to help him come to terms with what he had to do. But there was a lot of waiting.” Experiencing the agonizing dilemma of caring for his ailing mother while potentially prohibiting the growth of his band’s career during their biggest moment, there was no easy solution. “I took her to so many doctor appointments for different MRIs. “I was still living with my mom at home and helping her with what I could,” Bolm says.

touche amore

Having watched her fight and beat a form of the disease nearly twenty years earlier, Bolm was devastated by its return, which doctors explained was fully metastasized and gave her three months to a year to live. It was in the midst of Touché Amoré’s spot lit momentum in late 2013 that Bolm received the news that his mother had been diagnosed with Stage Four cancer. He has this huge gift for lyrics, it’s very honest, and he’s talking about these extremely personal situations but in a way that everyone can relate. His voice is not nearly as abrasive as most screamers. And everyone can relate to Jeremy because they can actually understand what he’s screaming. I hear the American, top-heavy, jangly, upbeat sound.

touche amore

We all play Fenders and it’s very twangy. But the sound of that isn’t tough it’s not ultra-distorted. The songs are fast, they’ve got a lot of energy, they’re mostly yelling. “When Touché started, it was a much more aggressive band,” he says. Steinhardt, the band’s guitarist-and original bassist-who stills maintains his side career as a graphic designer working on pop album art, sees a similar flight in the evolution of their sound. I wanted to find that middle ground of writing music that’s ‘us’ but not drifting too far to alienate people. I’d just turned 30 so I looked at it as writing about who I am, what I can be, how I’ll be remembered after I go and if I’ll make a positive impact. I had an awesome girl at home, I wasn’t drowning in debt, I had this band. “At the point where we started writing Is Survived By, I was in such a good place it was hard to find anything to write about. “I feel that on the timeline of a band’s path, it gets really hard with each subsequent record,” Bolm says. “I don’t open up to people too much in regular life, but when I’m writing songs, I want to be as open and as honest as possible,” Bolm confesses, but, having surpassed every expectation of which any of the bandmates could have dreamed, he eventually found it difficult to cull lyrical material to satisfy their impressive ascendance. Having earned early cred, critical favor, and legions of fans by playing lengthy tours of all shapes and sizes-in every basement, youth center, and house show on the circuit but also on large stages alongside bands like Thursday and mewithoutyou, AFI, Rise Against and with touring festivals-the band enjoyed a bigger following which only grew along with their talents. Rising to prominence in the hardcore community through releases on notable labels like No Sleep, 6131, and Deathwish, and on albums like 2009’s …To the Beat of a Dead Horse and 2011’s Parting the Sea Between Brightness and Me, Touché Amoré crossed into new territory with the 2013 art-punk masterpiece Is Survived By. And now with Stage Four, their fourth and biggest album to date, they are cementing their status as one of punk music’s most talented, relatable, and visceral acts. Since those early days, lead singer Jeremy Bolm, guitarists Nick Steinhardt and Clayton Stevens, bassist Tyler Kirby, and drummer Elliot Babin have created a trajectory for themselves through hard work and dedication.

#Touche amore series#

Stage Four is the new album from the Los Angeles band Touché Amoré, and its title is an emblem of a band both living its dream and marred by loss.įormed in Burbank, California, across 20, the band’s urgent sound, with its melodic sonic assault and impassioned vocals, has grown tighter and more refined through a trio of full-length albums and a series of EP’s and releases.






Touche amore